Vatican City, Vatican City State

Vatican City is a sovereign city-state that is located within the city of Rome, Italy. It is the smallest independent state in the world, with an area of approximately 44 hectares (110 acres) and a population of around 800 people.

The Vatican City is the spiritual and administrative center of the Roman Catholic Church, and it is the residence of the Pope, the leader of the Catholic Church. The city-state was established in 1929 by the Lateran Treaty between Italy and the Holy See, which recognized the Vatican City as an independent state.

The Vatican City is home to many important religious and cultural sites, including St. Peter’s Basilica, the Sistine Chapel, and the Vatican Museums, which house an extensive collection of artwork and artifacts from the Catholic Church’s history. These sites are visited by millions of tourists each year and are considered among the most significant landmarks in the world.

In addition to its religious significance, the Vatican City is also recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage Site and is an important center for diplomacy and international relations. The Holy See, which governs the Vatican City, has diplomatic relations with over 180 countries and is represented at the United Nations and other international organizations.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.